ACHS 2020 Futures is an international and interdisciplinary conference.

It is run by a local organising committee drawn from a range of institutions and disciplinary backgrounds. The local organising committee is supported by a scientific committee who will review proposals and help to shape the intellectual agenda of the conference.

The Association of Critical Heritage Studies (ACHS) is an international network of scholars, researchers and practitioners working in the broad and interdisciplinary field of heritage studies. The primary aim of ACHS is to promote heritage as an area of critical enquiry. Inspired by the paradigms of change inherent in postcolonial studies, and the developing interest in critical heritage studies as a field of research and academic engagement, it was officially founded in 2012, in Gothenburg, Sweden. The fifth biennial ACHS conference aims to build on and consolidate the networks established by previous conferences held in Gothenburg, Sweden (2012), Canberra, Australia (2014), Montreal, Canada (2016) and Hangzhou, China (2018), some of which have attracted almost a thousand international delegates.

  • >


    London is one of the world’s major centres for heritage and museums. The conference will take place at UCL’s 20 Bedford Way in Bloomsbury, in the very centre of London. Less than five minutes’ walk from the British Museum and a number of other significant heritage sites and internationally renowned collections, the venue provides easy connections from London’s global hub airports at Heathrow, Gatwick and Stansted, and is an easy 10-minute walk from St Pancras International Station with rail connections to mainland Europe. The venue itself is a controversial grade 2* listed building which provides a pertinent setting for the conference theme. Opened in 1977 and designed by Sir Denys Lasdun, it is considered to be one of the finest examples of Brutalist architecture in the UK. 


    All halls and rooms at 20 Bedford Way are fully accessible; however, if you have special mobility requirements, we would ask you to make us aware of these when you register. 


    20 Bedford Way, London, WC1H 0AL, UNITED KINGDOM

    Further details including information about local transport links 

  • >

    Event Conduct Policy

    The organisers of ACHS2020 wish to ensure that the conference provides a safe, inclusive, professional space for all attendees that is free from harassment and bullying. We believe that a positive and respectful working environment will reap the greatest rewards for all attendees. 

    ACHS2020 is a truly global conference and we welcome participants regardless of age, gender, marital status, pregnancy/maternity status, disability, race (including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin), religion or belief, sex, or sexual orientation.

    We request that all participants, venue staff, conference organisers be treated with dignity, respect and courtesy.

    If you are subject to, or witness, any form of harassment or violation of this code of conduct we would encourage you to report this in confidence to the conference organisers either in person or via email to 

    Participants are expected to comply with this code of conduct and any participant not doing so will be asked to stop their antisocial behaviour, failure to do so may result in a participant being asked to leave the conference.

    We adhere to the following statements of the host institution, University College London, and request that all participants do the same.

  • >

    Local Organising Committee

    Rodney Harrison (UCL Institute of Archaeology/AHRC Heritage Priority Area Leadership Fellow), Conference Chair.

    Nadia Bartolini, University of Exeter

    Chiara Bonacchi, University of Stirling

    Esther Breithoff, Birbeck, University of London

    Jonathan Gardner, University College London

    Hana Morel, University College London

    Jennie Morgan, University of Stirling

    Tina Paphitis, University of Hertfordshire

    Susan Sandford Smith, University College London

    Colin Sterling, University College London

  • >

    Scientific Committee

    Available soon.

  • >

    Information for sponsors and exhibitors

    If you are interested in exhibiting at, or sponsoring an element of the conference, or if you are able to assist with travel bursaries, please contact us at